Business (Level 3 Extended Diploma)

Business, Administration and Law

Business, Administration and Law
Business, Administration and Law

What will you be working towards?

Alternative Title Business (Level 3 Extended Diploma)
Code L3Be3
Qualification Type National Extended Diploma (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


This is a Level 3 Extended Diploma course. It is the equivalent size to three A Levels - 180 credits.

The Extended Diploma is a two year, full-time course that meets entry requirements in its own right for students who want to progress to higher education courses in business areas before entering employment. It can also support students who want to progress directly to employment in job roles in business or business management and Higher Apprenticeships in the business sector.


Year 1

  • Unit 1: Exploring a Business (mandatory)
  • Unit 2: Developing a Marketing Campaign externally assessed control assessment (mandatory)
  • Unit 3: Personal and Business Finance exam (mandatory)
  • Unit 4: Managing an Event (mandatory)
  • Unit 8: Recruitment and Selection Process
  • Unit 14: Investigating Customer Service
  • Unit 27: Work Experience in Business students undertake two weeks work experience

Year 2

  • Unit 5: International Business (mandatory)
  • Unit 6: Principles of Management externally assessed control assessment (mandatory)
  • Unit 7: Business Decision Making externally assessed synoptic assessment (mandatory)
  • Unit 9: Team Building in Business
  • Unit 21: Training and Development
  • Unit 22: Market Research

How will it be delivered?

The course is delivered through taught sessions which lead to preparation for external assessments or the completion of assignments. Group discussion, individual written preparation, practical exercises; practice questions and assessments are all used throughout the course.

Achievement in the qualification requires a demonstration of depth of study in each unit, assured acquisition of a range of practical skills required for employment or progression to HE, and successful development of transferable skills. Learners achieving a qualification will have achieved across mandatory units including external and synoptic assessment. Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction, Merit, Pass and Unclassified.

Qualifications in the suite are graded using a scale of P to D*, or PP to D*D*, or PPP to D*D*D*

Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic. Each assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked by Pearson and a grade is awarded. Learners must achieve all external units at pass grade or above. You are permitted to re sit any external assessment only once during their programme.

The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the Business suite are:

  • Examinations - all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
  • Set tasks - learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task. Some external assessments include a period of preparation using set information. External assessments are available twice a year.

Entry requirements

At least 5 GCSE Grades 9 - 4 to include English and Maths.

Your next steps...

The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses, for example: BSc (Hons) in Business and Management BA (Hons) and BSc(Hons) in Business Studies BSc (Hons) in International Management.